Voice Actor Profile I – Shinichiro Miki

Shinichiro Miki has been the voice of some of my favorite characters and you may have heard him without knowing it.


Charizard

Yes it’s true, even if you’ve never seen Pokemon with the Japanese audio you will have heard him as Ash’s Charizard. That’s because he’s the Japanese voice for this guy and has done other roles in Pokemon:


Kojiro / James

This is where I first came across this actor without realizing it when I was a kid watching Pokemon not even knowing what anime really was. It’s weird to think that any time I heard Charizard I was listening to this guy who I now recognize through some of my favorite anime characters. It’s like finding out that the English voice for Vash the Stampede was the second Black Power Ranger (it’s just weird!). Many years later I find Shinichiro Miki’s voice in some of my favorite characters, most recently Colonel Mustang from Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood.


Roy Mustang

I honestly can’t remember how Mustang sounded in the first series (Shinichiro Miki replaced the voice), but he does a great job in Brotherhood. It is somewhat chilling to hear his furious rage voice which this picture portrays. That flame alchemy is no joke! Much more powerful showcase than the first series.

I first began recognizing the voice of Shinichiro Miki in association to Takumi Fujiwara from Initial D. The characters Shinichiro Miki  plays are all so different and each have a different feel to their voice. I admire any actor who is able to play a wide variety of characters.


Takumi Fujiwara

The calm sort of voice from Takumi is nothing like the playful Kisuke Urahara.


Kisuke Urahara

If you haven’t seen Bleach just know that Urahara is awesome… by far the best character of the series.

Shinichiro Miki has also been a part of another full metal, Fullmetal Panic!


Kurz Weber

Haven’t seen Fullmetal Panic? Then you should watch it, if only so you can then watch Fullmetal Panic? Fumoffu. Fumoffu is one of the funniest comedies I’ve ever seen. I showed a random clip to my public speech class at college once and had everyone laughing.

He also did the voice for Shannon Casull from Scrapped Princess.

After seeing such a variety of characters already, I can’t wait to see what characters he plays next.

Leave a Reply

