Nymph of the Wood

Consuming more days of an endless life
I turned my regard to the skyline blue,
which I presumed I beheld a glimpse
of dreams passing effortlessly by.

Dreams which I held to that were rife
with the love of things I thought once true,
but dark is my mind caught in this eclipse
of troubled thoughts which find vent in a sigh.

Why not! Why can’t I! What horrid strife–
to find myself kept in chains bound to
this place, a verdant evergreen copse
destroyed by the famine caused by their lie.

A symphony of hatred would take a knife
through their heart, coloring in deathly hue
the dust and the earth. (an apocalypse).
Yet my strength is torn and the latent cry

echoes in the silence: “I am trapped here.”

Leave a Reply

